Just Commodores Forum Community

It takes just a moment to join our fantastic community

Register

VN Auto Changeover NEED HELP!!! :(

Discussion in 'VN - VP Holden Commodore (1988 - 1993)' started by Paul_grima, Mar 28, 2011.

1. Paul_grima

Paul_grima New Member

Members Ride:
    VT Exec
    Hey guys im looking for any kind of help i can get with this.
    Recently i bent the chassis in my series 1 Vn commodore executive.
    It has a decent auto, motor and tailshaft, diff etc..
    The car is not fixable or safe to drive.
    I have pickd up a series 2 Vn Calais needing a geabox n tailshaft.
    I am still learning about cars but i am pretty good at most things i have attemped ex.. brakes, rotors, axles, steering rack, exhaust, controll arms, bushes and more..

I am looking for any help or guides on changing over the transmission (auto) from the executive to the calais. i have trolley jacks and car stands. also enough tools..
    If anyone can help me it would be geat;y appreciated. also if theres anything i need to know about the tailshaft.

Thanks alot in advance.

Paul :)

2. Coast_Calais

Coast_Calais sick of the idiots here

Members Ride:
    varies
    if you want something for reference along the way, I highly recommend a gregories manual or similar. It really pays off, and is a great guide.
    And a trans service kit (gaskets filter oil ect) while you're at it, and probably replace universals and center bearing on tail shaft while you're there...

Otherwise, my experience provided no major secrets, just have beer, a radio, loads of carby cleaner and some mates nearby...

3. Paul_grima

Paul_grima New Member

Members Ride:
    VT Exec
    Thanks mate ill have to invest in a manual. Yeh i have 1 mate whos willing to help me, is the carby cleaner just to help undo the bolts? also is the tailshaft fairly easy? cheers bud.

4. Pub247

Pub247 Well-Known Member

Members Ride:
    Ford Fairmont