Just Commodores Forum Community

It takes just a moment to join our fantastic community

Register

VF series 2 HUD

Discussion in 'VF Holden Commodore (2013 - 2017)' started by Pete the pommy, Jul 16, 2017.

  1. Pete the pommy

    Pete the pommy New Member

    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2017
    Location:
    Auckland
    Members Ride:
    Calais s2
    hi, simply my HUD isn't projecting onto the windscreen, I can see that it's working when I look into the HUD unit from above, I bough the car with it not working, and the guy I bought it off said the windscreen hasn't been replaced (which I'm told could be the reason it's not projecting). Anyone have any Ideas? Many thanks
     
    Last edited: Jul 16, 2017
  2. crew_man

    crew_man Active Member

    Messages:
    327
    Likes Received:
    53
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2010
    Members Ride:
    VFII SV6 Reserve Edition Sportwagon
    Have you tried adjusting the position of the HUD?
     
    expommy likes this.
  3. expommy

    expommy New Member

    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2017
    Location:
    NZ
    Members Ride:
    vf II V8
    Hi thanks for your suggestion, I can see the motor working to tilt the display (its reflecting in the windshield) and I can see the actual information when I look down into the HUD unit, but for some reason its not projecting onto the screen
     
  4. crew_man

    crew_man Active Member

    Messages:
    327
    Likes Received:
    53
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2010
    Members Ride:
    VFII SV6 Reserve Edition Sportwagon
    Have you adjusted the brightness level of the HUD?
     
    expommy likes this.
  5. expommy

    expommy New Member

    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2017
    Location:
    NZ
    Members Ride:
    vf II V8
    hi - thanks for taking the time to make a suggestion, appreciate it, I've tried it, for some reason its just not projecting onto the screen
     
  6. 426Cuda

    426Cuda SUBLIME!

    Messages:
    4,129
    Likes Received:
    2,930
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2013
    Location:
    Wagga Wagga
    Members Ride:
    VF Redline Sedan - A6 Spitfire MSE...
    Try checking the fuse. Otherwise it's off to the dealer I'd say.
     
  7. expommy

    expommy New Member

    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2017
    Location:
    NZ
    Members Ride:
    vf II V8
    hi - thanks for the suggestion. I can see down into the HUD from the screen and I can see the "0kms" and it scrolls throuhg the different settings but just doesn't "project" upwards, quite annoying :)
     
  8. Anthony121

    Anthony121 Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    1,294
    Likes Received:
    646
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2014
    Location:
    Melbourne
    Members Ride:
    VF SSV Redline MY17 & VF Director
    Its only a reflection onto the inside of the windscreen. The unit does not project so unless it is not bright enough to reflect. Can you see it at night?
     
    expommy likes this.
  9. expommy

    expommy New Member

    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2017
    Location:
    NZ
    Members Ride:
    vf II V8
    hi - yeah I can see the info when I look down from the screen into the HUD unit, there must be an issue with the mirror or something that reflects the image to the screen? taking to the dealer next week, thanks for your comment :)
     
  10. KT11H

    KT11H Active Member

    Messages:
    409
    Likes Received:
    189
    Trophy Points:
    43
    Joined:
    May 31, 2015
    Location:
    Canberra
    Members Ride:
    VFII SSV Redline Ute
    Did the previous owner replaced the windscreen with non-reflective one?
     
    expommy likes this.
  11. expommy

    expommy New Member

    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2017
    Location:
    NZ
    Members Ride:
    vf II V8
    hi - I wondered that but it has the correct screen, it says on teh screen itself that its for the HUD :)
     

Share This Page