Just Commodores Forum Community

It takes just a moment to join our fantastic community

Register

VE alloytec manifold

Discussion in 'V6 Development And Modification' started by 1989mitty, Jul 19, 2009.

  1. wizeabe

    wizeabe New Member

    Messages:
    126
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2008
    Location:
    Canberra
    Members Ride:
    VE Omega
    Yeah, I'll see if I can arrange the dyno run while I'm getting my warranty check at GenTech. I do have the spacers, so you won't have to worry about ordering them. Thanks though.

    I'll post the results in here when I get them.


    Cheers,
    Abe
     
  2. kuzman89

    kuzman89 Active Member

    Messages:
    1,903
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2009
    Location:
    vic
    Members Ride:
    VE SV6 ute
    im interested to see what happens with the VE alloytec manifolds you are doing, with dyno results etc.
     
  3. wizeabe

    wizeabe New Member

    Messages:
    126
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2008
    Location:
    Canberra
    Members Ride:
    VE Omega
    Here are the results of the pre-port matching:

    [​IMG]

    Keep in mind that this is done with the Mace manifold insulators, the car has the SS exhaust system, running on Premium 98 and my car hasn't been tuned.

    Since we're in the holiday season, the port matching will need to wait till January so I won't have results to compare till then.

    I'd also like to mention that I didn't get the dyno done before I got the Mace insulators for comparison, so I won't know how much of an increase I got there.
     
  4. Corbs1234

    Corbs1234 New Member

    Messages:
    141
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2009
    Location:
    North of Adelaide
    Members Ride:
    VZ 3.6
    This an auto im guessing? If the dyno was done in 3rd
     
  5. wizeabe

    wizeabe New Member

    Messages:
    126
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2008
    Location:
    Canberra
    Members Ride:
    VE Omega
    Yeah, I actually forgot to mention that it's a 4 speed auto. I've tracked down results from another 4 speed auto V6 Omega and at stock it makes 131.8kwrw. So the exhaust and the mace insulators does make a difference but I won't know for sure which one, or if both or by how much mine got extra. Oh well, at least I'll be able to tell if port matching would make a difference. :D
     
  6. impulsive

    impulsive Alloytec Racing

    Messages:
    1,872
    Likes Received:
    17
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2007
    Location:
    Brisbane, QLD
    Members Ride:
    VZ Alloytec
    pm impulsesv6 too, he has done it to his car,

    im sure if ppl in qld wanted it done he could do it for yous
     
  7. HULK#4

    HULK#4 New Member

    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2010
    Members Ride:
    ve allotec
    ve alloytec

    I have been playing with the ly7.
    I drive a ve speedway car with the v6 in it.iam looking for ways for more horse power.at this point.we put some bigger cams in it a it went back woods.
    Ive now cone back to neer stand and made more horse power.
    Because we have run out of intake & injectors.
    I will be keen to test what ever you are willing to make.
    Ive looked at the cpr intake.they say bolt on a 60h/p.
    With the heads shaved with know prcombustion camber.will give you about 11.7.1 comp with ly7 cams intack at standed marks.advanced the ext cam one tooth..port and polish heads and in takes..set of extractors nice pipe
    3'' all the way.but need a ajustable ecu.i use a vipeek v88..
    It makes over 230 rwhp.
    So willing to help out with it..
     
  8. 1989mitty

    1989mitty New Member

    Messages:
    69
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2009
    Members Ride:
    VE sv6 ute
    I can still do the porting but i have decided to go back to my idea about a new manifold i really wanna push the throttlebody back further and than ahve the maf further back this way i can run v8 otr intake systems instead of laying the radiator back. its going to be set up like a v8 one but will be in two halfs the bottom half will bolt onto the old lowermanifold section than the top half will bolt to that half.
     
  9. kuzman89

    kuzman89 Active Member

    Messages:
    1,903
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2009
    Location:
    vic
    Members Ride:
    VE SV6 ute
    are you planning on building one from scratch or modifying the existing one?
     
  10. 1989mitty

    1989mitty New Member

    Messages:
    69
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2009
    Members Ride:
    VE sv6 ute
    Not even sure now CPR6 $1400 delivered summernats special :beer chug:

    And i had a close look at the cpr6 where as the stock manifold splits into two and goes around the cpr6 just opens up into the manifold after the throttlebody.

    So anything like a v8 intake would be of the same gains but just not a factory looing peice under the engine covers
     
  11. impulsesv6

    impulsesv6 Alloytec Garage

    Messages:
    601
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2006
    Location:
    brisbane, QUEENSLAND
    Members Ride:
    A quick Alloytec
    ive modded my intake manifold a long while ago...

    just been modded again... pics up when this round is finished...
    this round has been more a visual mod than the performance of round 1...
     
  12. 1989mitty

    1989mitty New Member

    Messages:
    69
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2009
    Members Ride:
    VE sv6 ute
    Digging up old threads here guys but im back on track after quite a bad accident and can still offer port matching to suit mace intake spacers on all alloytec engines.

    Few options, You can send me your upper and lower manifolds along with your mace intake spacers, if you dont have spacers let me know in advance and i can supply them. Extra $165 for spacers

    Or, if you own a ve manifold i can do a exchange for my modded manifold, Im not 100% sure but can someone confirm if all alloytec manifolds are the same if so id be able to do exchange between models vz/ve and 175/195.
    Ill buy vz/ve upper and lower manifolds if any one has some around, Also any one with a ve willing to put there car on a dyno run it than fit my manifolds and run it again, if there is a gain ill leave my manifolds with you car and take yours for $200. Of course this is local area only sydney, wollongong canberra area.

    Both options will cost $350 plus postage costs and $165 if you dont have the spacers. Pm if you would like to place an order or for any other info.

    Will travel or meet half way for a fee if you wish to exchange manifolds.
     
    Last edited: Aug 9, 2010
  13. jwaye2

    jwaye2 New Member

    Messages:
    314
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2008
    Location:
    Darwin
    Members Ride:
    VZ Alloytec Sedan, VS L67 Ute
    Digging up an old thread but did anyone end up getting dyno results to see how much of a difference this mod made?
     
  14. Michael-08-VE

    Michael-08-VE New Member

    Messages:
    475
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2012
    Location:
    Maryborough QLD
    Members Ride:
    Ve commodore
    My average 0-100 is 7.5 with stock manifold, I've port matched my new one and taken 3-4 mm off the inside humps. I'll test my new manifold in the coming weeks and let you all know how I go.
     
  15. jwaye2

    jwaye2 New Member

    Messages:
    314
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2008
    Location:
    Darwin
    Members Ride:
    VZ Alloytec Sedan, VS L67 Ute
    Sweet cheers. Ive got a complete spare engine that I cant sell so im thinking of playing around with the manifold and seeing what I can do with it.
     
  16. commodore665

    commodore665 expat Saffa

    Messages:
    2,750
    Likes Received:
    1,325
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2011
    Location:
    New Zealand via Cape Town
    Members Ride:
    2005 SV6 & Alfa Romeo 156 V6
    I've been thinking about getting a manifold from a wrecker and having a play around as well , for my SV6 , I bought a spare for my old ecotec that I polished up a few years back for about $40 , not sure on the Alloytec ones .
     
  17. Michael-08-VE

    Michael-08-VE New Member

    Messages:
    475
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2012
    Location:
    Maryborough QLD
    Members Ride:
    Ve commodore
    I got a manifold, throttle body map sensor and nearly all hoses for 50$ of some fella, i got pretty lucky but they are out there just gotta keep looking. I'm thinking of cutting out the edges underneath just behind the throttle body where it splits into two passages and welding a plate so there's more room. Dunno if it'll be worth the f@$k around though.
     
  18. Michael-08-VE

    Michael-08-VE New Member

    Messages:
    475
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2012
    Location:
    Maryborough QLD
    Members Ride:
    Ve commodore
    Are there restricters on the inside of the exhaust manifolds...?
     
  19. jwaye2

    jwaye2 New Member

    Messages:
    314
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2008
    Location:
    Darwin
    Members Ride:
    VZ Alloytec Sedan, VS L67 Ute
    There shouldnt be restricters as such but the factory manifold will be slightly restrictive. Swap them for extractors and it will open it up.
     
  20. Rileymax

    Rileymax Member

    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2015
    Location:
    QLD
    Members Ride:
    05 Vz Commodore
    Did anyone end up getting some power figures with the port matching? I know this is an old thread but if you're still doing it and theres a decent increase, I'd be interested
     

Share This Page