Just Commodores Forum Community

It takes just a moment to join our fantastic community

Register

Replacing the Mylink with a 2018+ Radio

Discussion in 'VF Holden Commodore (2013 - 2017)' started by TazzI, Jul 30, 2019.

  1. [paradox]

    [paradox] Active Member

    Messages:
    301
    Likes Received:
    109
    Trophy Points:
    43
    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2018
    Location:
    Sydney
    Members Ride:
    VF2 SSV-R
    i think it would take me all weekend to get there :(
     
  2. Z31na

    Z31na Member

    Messages:
    57
    Likes Received:
    16
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2017
    Location:
    Victoria
    Members Ride:
    2013 VF Commodore Evoke
    Got any pictures of the other themes that are possible? I'd love the newer features but I havn't liked the look of the two newer systems I've seen out in the wild
     
  3. Smashfist

    Smashfist Active Member

    Messages:
    807
    Likes Received:
    222
    Trophy Points:
    43
    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2014
    Location:
    SE QLD
    Members Ride:
    440rwhp Cammed VF Ute
    Honestly I couldn't care what the home screen looks like if it has Carplay.

    Colorado radio would be the go, they'd be plentiful and cheap at wreckers if you can make it work.

    I would expect that the vehicle settings part of it shouldn't be TOO bad to configure, as the RG Colorado and VF Commodore both run on GM's "Global A" electrical architecture.
     
  4. Forg

    Forg Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    3,376
    Likes Received:
    1,219
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2015
    Location:
    Sydney
    Members Ride:
    Regal Peackock VF SS-V Redline Wagoon
    Yeah I’d be happy to help smashing-up Colorados & take them off the road, especially if a positive side-effect was getting the MyLink for a VF. :)
     
    Hq King and lmoengnr like this.
  5. struggo

    struggo Member

    Messages:
    170
    Likes Received:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2006
    Location:
    Old Sydney Town
    Members Ride:
    2016 VFII SSV Redline + 2013 FG MKII G6ET
    Eagerly watching this space ✊✊✊
     
  6. Paul Smedley

    Paul Smedley Member

    Messages:
    86
    Likes Received:
    47
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2017
    Location:
    Adelaide
    Members Ride:
    MY18 ZB Calais V
    As far as I recall, Colorado runs a hybrid architecture. Parts of the system run on Isuzu's architecture with some kind of bridge to 'Global A' for some components...
     
    abuch47 likes this.
  7. TazzI

    TazzI Envyous Customs

    Messages:
    1,066
    Likes Received:
    339
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Joined:
    May 24, 2011
    Location:
    Western Australia
    Members Ride:
    Holden VE SS Ute
    Little update for those following..

    So, the heater controls and that will work, but.. the actual controls infront of the screen (volume ect) will not currently.

    There connections are different between the colorados screen to buttons, and VF mylink screen to buttons. I will need to test the circuits to identify whats doing what exactly, and should be able to make some sort of patch loom to add it in.

    So.. both good and bad. Basically the new system would work, but currently no controls on front (for now).
     
    Last edited: Aug 14, 2019
    struggo, abuch47, GG Wagon and 5 others like this.
  8. GG Wagon

    GG Wagon New Member

    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2019
    Location:
    Sydney
    Members Ride:
    VF I 3.6Gi Sportswagon
    Very keen on the development of this unit! Signed up just to keep track :)
     
  9. sonyxperiageek

    sonyxperiageek Member

    Messages:
    68
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2018
    Location:
    New Zealand
    Members Ride:
    2013 Holden Commodore VF SV6
    Following as well. Sounds exciting!
     
  10. Smashfist

    Smashfist Active Member

    Messages:
    807
    Likes Received:
    222
    Trophy Points:
    43
    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2014
    Location:
    SE QLD
    Members Ride:
    440rwhp Cammed VF Ute
    What exactly would you be chasing? I'm not in dealer land any more but I have contacts - if you're chasing an RG radio pinout/wiring diagram I might be able to help.
     
    kirkc and Fu Manchu like this.
  11. Jack84

    Jack84 New Member

    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2019
    Location:
    Central Coast
    Members Ride:
    VF SS Series 2 6.2L
    Great work I’ll be keen to get one of these systems. I had a 2017 Colorado Ute the CarPlay was fantastic. We find this Bluetooth audio slow connecting and sometimes doesn’t connect to Bluetooth! frustrating...
     
  12. TazzI

    TazzI Envyous Customs

    Messages:
    1,066
    Likes Received:
    339
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Joined:
    May 24, 2011
    Location:
    Western Australia
    Members Ride:
    Holden VE SS Ute
    Make sure your on the latest updates, I found one of the USB updates solved alot of bluetooth stuff.

    This is the wiring between the actual faceplate buttons to the screen. Its not documented wirin and requires using a scope to monitor the voltages and/or communication. Purpose of that is so I can disconnect the buttons form the screen, connect it to one of my own devices which can interpret the button presses and then output the require signals to the HMI screen.

    As this is now starting to get alot more technical, I will require help in developing this further which someone thats dealt with embedded electronics and is happy to help probe and reverse engineer the buttons. At this time, I am unsure if the buttons are a simple resistor ladder, or if they use LIN, or how they are implemented.
    The same thing will need to be done on the HMI buttons to work those out, and then match up which buttons should do what between the two.
     
    Mavericks Choice likes this.
  13. abuch47

    abuch47 Active Member

    Messages:
    853
    Likes Received:
    220
    Trophy Points:
    43
    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2018
    Location:
    Madelaide
    Members Ride:
    LSS3 YOOTE
    Could you glitterbomb the kayhan turd as you did with VE?
     
  14. TazzI

    TazzI Envyous Customs

    Messages:
    1,066
    Likes Received:
    339
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Joined:
    May 24, 2011
    Location:
    Western Australia
    Members Ride:
    Holden VE SS Ute
    I've amazingly never had any problems with the Kayhan units that I have used. Havent used the one for the VF's, but its base firmware and operating system is the same as the others, only difference is the settings for the car.

    I have them in both my FG and VE vehicles, and never had a problem.

    In saying that, I have had to fix up multiple installations locally though, which is 100% of the time come down to wiring issues such connectors not been pushed in correctly or just not installed right which has resulted in weird issues. Or ending in the unit failing as its been working on intermittent connections for a period of time.
     
    abuch47 likes this.
  15. Jack84

    Jack84 New Member

    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2019
    Location:
    Central Coast
    Members Ride:
    VF SS Series 2 6.2L
    Hey TazzI,

    Do you know if mine has the latest updates?
     

    Attached Files:

  16. Wagonboy

    Wagonboy New Member

    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2017
    Location:
    Perth, WA
    Members Ride:
    VF SS wagon
    If you need a VF for testing mate just let me know, wagon sits in the shed.
    Glad this has progressed since you mentioned it when fitting my SSV cluster
     
  17. [paradox]

    [paradox] Active Member

    Messages:
    301
    Likes Received:
    109
    Trophy Points:
    43
    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2018
    Location:
    Sydney
    Members Ride:
    VF2 SSV-R
  18. TazzI

    TazzI Envyous Customs

    Messages:
    1,066
    Likes Received:
    339
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Joined:
    May 24, 2011
    Location:
    Western Australia
    Members Ride:
    Holden VE SS Ute
    Thanks! But all things Im already onto. Iv already cracked into the HMI 2.5s completely which allows modifying the actual firmware.

    Im hoping to do the same with the HMI 3.0s to install actual custom applications, that will be where all the real fun beings.. could have torque/dashcommand up on screen, or even my own custom application which could basically replace a HSV EDI.

    Anyways, Im waiting on a better scope/logic analyser to begin probing the pins going to the buttons. I am hoping majority of them are just for things like power/lighting ect, and I get get away with only needing to extract 1 used for LIN. If Im really lucky, the LIN commands between the units will line up.. but that is becoming wishful thinking. May need to make a 'man in the middle' device to perform the command conversion.

    For once, I didnt pay for express postage for the new part, so itll be a few weeks before it turns up.
     
    PandaKazii, Crom and Philmecrackun like this.
  19. Mattricho

    Mattricho Active Member

    Messages:
    406
    Likes Received:
    228
    Trophy Points:
    43
    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2015
    Location:
    Brisbane
    Members Ride:
    VF SSV my15
    @TazzI i would be very interesting if you could get dashcommand up on the mylink
     
  20. PandaKazii

    PandaKazii New Member

    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2019
    Location:
    Auckland, New Zealand
    Members Ride:
    VF Evoke S2
    Can’t wait to see how this turns out
     

Share This Page