Just Commodores Forum Community

It takes just a moment to join our fantastic community

Register

Questions on cammed rebuild

Discussion in 'VR - VS Holden Commodore (1993 - 1997)' started by moocow, Mar 16, 2014.

  1. moocow

    moocow moo_c0w

    Messages:
    104
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2012
    Location:
    leeton, new south wales
    Members Ride:
    2001 WH Statesman LS1 HBD
    Hi again,

    So I've recently done some work on my engine and just have some questions.

    I added a stage 2 comp cam, stiffer valve springs and a double row timing chain. I had my heads ported and the valves reseated.
    I realise that changing the cam is gonna move the power higher up in the rev range, but my problem is that I have next to no power below 3000rpm and then all the power hits after that.
    It almost feels like turbo lag or hitting powerband lol
    Would this be a timing issue or do I need to get a tune? Or anything else?

    I swear I had more questions...oh well XD
     
  2. Reaper

    Reaper Tells it like it is.

    Messages:
    6,402
    Likes Received:
    5,079
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2004
    Location:
    SE Suburbs, Melbourne
    Members Ride:
    RG Z71 Colorado, 120 Prado , VDJ200 Landcruiser
    Well yes, that's what happens with bigger cams. Further to that, any time you do some major engine work like that you will need to have your ecu tuned to suit. What intake manifold are you running?? Compression?? What are the exact specs of the cam?
     
  3. moocow

    moocow moo_c0w

    Messages:
    104
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2012
    Location:
    leeton, new south wales
    Members Ride:
    2001 WH Statesman LS1 HBD
    Has the standard intake manifold. Planning on a bigger throttle body and I have a CAI and a plenum spacer.
    The cam came with a chip. I assumed that would either replace the need for a tune or just make it driveable until I got one.
    Haven't tested compression as I don't have the tool.

    Specs of the cam from the MACE site:
    216°/216° at .050"
    Intake Lift .317" (.507" lift at 1.6:1 rocker ratio)
    Exhaust Lift .317" (.507" lift at 1.6:1 rocker ratio)
    111 LSA

    Here's a link to my garage for a list of all my mods
    Just Commodores Garage
     
  4. delcowizzid

    delcowizzid on holiday

    Messages:
    6,891
    Likes Received:
    361
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2008
    Location:
    NZ
    Members Ride:
    в∞ѕтεכ √&
    did you dial in the cam if its retarded a couple of degrees they loose all bottomend my mates car had nothing down low at all and then at 3000 it was like hitting the nos button no power to full power.advanced the cam 2 degrees now power from idle
     
  5. moocow

    moocow moo_c0w

    Messages:
    104
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2012
    Location:
    leeton, new south wales
    Members Ride:
    2001 WH Statesman LS1 HBD
    Sounds familiar lol so to do that I'm gonna have to take the whole front of the engine off again and adjust the timing sprocket?
     
  6. BottleFedVS

    BottleFedVS Member

    Messages:
    337
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2010
    Location:
    Around WA
    Members Ride:
    VS Calais 5.0L & 80 Series Landcruiser
  7. moocow

    moocow moo_c0w

    Messages:
    104
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2012
    Location:
    leeton, new south wales
    Members Ride:
    2001 WH Statesman LS1 HBD
    Ok, so I had a go last night, put everything back together and then decided I'd done it wrong. Horrible noises from the engine was kind of a giveaway XD
    Did it again today (properly this time) so now the timing is advanced by 2 degrees. Can't say I notice much of a difference. The only thing is it idles a bit better.

    So! After all that, any other suggestions?
     
  8. _R_J_K_

    _R_J_K_ Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    4,598
    Likes Received:
    432
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2008
    Members Ride:
    Zenki S14
    A tune maybe?
     
  9. Reaper

    Reaper Tells it like it is.

    Messages:
    6,402
    Likes Received:
    5,079
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2004
    Location:
    SE Suburbs, Melbourne
    Members Ride:
    RG Z71 Colorado, 120 Prado , VDJ200 Landcruiser
    Just to get it clear - you have fitted an aftermarket cam and haven't re-tuned the ecu to suit??

    As others have mentioned, the first step is setting the timing correctly. I wouldn't advance it - just make sure the cam is dialled in exactly where it should be. Messing with the cam timing unless you are a very experienced engine builder just confuses things.

    Once your timing is correct then off to the tuner you will go. That cam seems quite peaky to me compared to stock so expect some bottom end loss and I'd even consider a small stallie on the auto.
     
  10. _R_J_K_

    _R_J_K_ Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    4,598
    Likes Received:
    432
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2008
    Members Ride:
    Zenki S14
    I think he said it came with a memcal. Is it MACE's memcal or a Crow/Comp cams memcal OP? Either way the dyno will always beat it.
     
  11. moocow

    moocow moo_c0w

    Messages:
    104
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2012
    Location:
    leeton, new south wales
    Members Ride:
    2001 WH Statesman LS1 HBD
    Well I'd rather not pull everything apart again to put the timing back to 0 lol it's advanced 2 degrees and seems a little better than standard timing.
    It's a mace memcal. Are these programmable or do I need a different ecu?
    A high stall would be good yeah
     

Share This Page