Just Commodores Forum Community

It takes just a moment to join our fantastic community

Register

Power outlets not working

Discussion in 'Electrical Wiring / Questions' started by josh2992, Aug 11, 2016.

  1. josh2992

    josh2992 New Member

    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2016
    Location:
    Melbourne
    Members Ride:
    2014 VF SV6
    Hi guys,

    I just bought a used 2014 VF SV6 and have noitced that neither of the power outlets work. There is on in the center console and one under the media controls in the little storage/coin tray area, neither of these work. I am hoping this will just be a blown fuse but I am not quite sure which fuse I want to be replacing and I am also not quite sure at how to remove the fuses to put a new one in. Is anyone able to confirm which fuse it is that would be responsible for this? Looking at the diagram on the back of the plate that covers the battery and fuse box in the boot of the car, there is one that has 'AUX BATT' next to it, not sure if this is the one or not.

    Any help is appreciated.
     
  2. Karl2019

    Karl2019 New Member

    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2019
    Location:
    Auckland
    Members Ride:
    VF SV6
    Hi Josh, did you ever find the solution to this as I have the same problem?. Thanks, Karl
     
  3. lmoengnr

    lmoengnr Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    2,635
    Likes Received:
    1,485
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2012
    Location:
    Sunbury Vic.
    Members Ride:
    MY12.5 Maloo R8, MY12 Redline ute, Magnum 224
    Check the fuse panel on the R/H end of the dash panel(drivers door open).
    Fuse F29 'Accessories'.
     
    Karl2019 likes this.
  4. Karl2019

    Karl2019 New Member

    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2019
    Location:
    Auckland
    Members Ride:
    VF SV6
    Thanks you, have replaced the fuse and unfortunately didn’t fix the outlets. Any other ideas pls ?. Thank you
     
  5. accentstencil

    accentstencil Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    8,089
    Likes Received:
    341
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2005
    Location:
    Eschol Park, Sydney
    Members Ride:
    WH II Caprice, 5.7 2017 Captiva.
    Was the fuse that you took out blown and did the fuse you replace blow?
     
    Karl2019 likes this.
  6. Karl2019

    Karl2019 New Member

    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2019
    Location:
    Auckland
    Members Ride:
    VF SV6
    Hi, the original fuse appeared unblown (ie the internal silver wire appeared still connected) but I replaced it any way. The replacement fuse looks good. Thank you
     
  7. accentstencil

    accentstencil Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    8,089
    Likes Received:
    341
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2005
    Location:
    Eschol Park, Sydney
    Members Ride:
    WH II Caprice, 5.7 2017 Captiva.
    I can only assume that there is a wiring problem, maybe a disconnected wire or bad connection at a wiring connector. You would have to access the wiring at the back of the power outlets to investigate.
     
    Karl2019 likes this.
  8. Karl2019

    Karl2019 New Member

    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2019
    Location:
    Auckland
    Members Ride:
    VF SV6
    Ok thank you
     

Share This Page