Just Commodores Forum Community

It takes just a moment to join our fantastic community

Register

Post your setup!

Discussion in 'The LAN Lounge' started by AirStrike, Jun 26, 2008.

  1. jameswh

    jameswh New Member

    Messages:
    55
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2008
    Location:
    Liverpool, Sydney
    Members Ride:
    VY II S S/C
    Nothing exciting here, was fairly decent 12 months ago. ;)

    CPU: Intel Xeon E3110 3GHz (equivalent to the E8500, was forced to by the Xeon as there was an extreme shortly of E8500's at the time)
    Mobo: ASUS P5K-E
    Ram: 4GB (1gb p/DIMM), DDR2 800MHz
    HDD: c: (NTFS on drive 0) 370.55 GB 284.19 GB free, d: (NTFS on drive 0) 129.56 GB 27.85 GB free, h: (NTFS on drive 1) 400.08 GB 25.88 GB free
    Optical: PIONEER DVR-212, Some generic DVD player.
    Video: Gigabyte Radeon 3850 512mb
    Sound: Creative SB Audigy 2 ZS, 5.1 Logitech speaker setup
    Monitor: Acer X193W 19"
    OS: Windows XP SP3, although I often use my PCLinuxOS 2009.1 VM PC.
     
  2. Tas_HSV

    Tas_HSV New Member

    Messages:
    67
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2008
    Location:
    Hobart,TAS
    Members Ride:
    VR HSV Clubsport
    CPU:Intel core2 duo E7200 2.53 ghz
    MOBO:Gigabyte S series GA-G31MS2L
    RAM:4 gig DDR2
    HDD:500 Gig SATA 2
    OPTICAL:LG dvd/r/w
    plus heaps more but not sure what lol
     
  3. mcrow5

    mcrow5 New Member

    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2009
    Members Ride:
    VT Acclaim S2
    q8200 @ 2.33ghz
    4gb ddr2 1066mhz
    1gb 4850
    22" screen
    750gb hdd
    bluray reader
     
  4. cdtoaster

    cdtoaster Banned

    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2009
    Members Ride:
    commodore

    well the CPU is pretty good and its a decent amount of RAM, chuck in a new gfx card and it will be exciting again :p
     
  5. ruggj

    ruggj .

    Messages:
    347
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2008
    Location:
    Melbourne, Vic
    Members Ride:
    VX Exec 01
    My setups

    My PC
    CPU: Q9650 3.0ghz
    MB: Asus P5Q
    Ram: 4GB Corsair Dominators 1066mhz
    PSU: Thermaltake ToughPower 850w
    HDD: 500gb WD Sata, 400gb WD Sata, 1tb WD Sata
    Optical: Pioneer 216BK
    GFX: ASUS ATI Radeon 4870X2
    Sound: Logitech x530 5.1 Surround
    Monitor: Samsung 2253LW 22" and Acer X213w
    Keyboard and Mouse lol: Logitech G15 and G5
    OS: Windows 7 Enterprise 64bit

    All of this is in a Thermaltake Armor, cooled by various case fans and CPU has a Coolermaster V8 CPU cooler.

    Edit: Updated Info and Pics, note the wallpaper is coming off soon :p

    My Server
    CPU: Q6600 2.4ghz
    MB: Asus P5K Pro
    Ram: 4gb Corsair 800mhz
    PSU: 600w Cooler master Silent Pro
    HDD: 1tb WD Sata, 200gb Maxtor IDE (was lying around so put it in :D)
    Optical: Pioneer 215
    GFX: NVidia 7100gs (the P5K didn't have on board graphics, so i spent $15 on the cheapest gfx card i could get lol)
    Sound: 2 crappy speakers in the monitor
    Monitor: 15" CRT with inbuilt speakers and mic
    Keyboard and Mouse: Some old stuff i had lying around
    OS: Windows Server 2008 Enterprise 32bit
     

    Attached Files:

    Last edited: Jul 5, 2010
  6. bezz

    bezz Member

    Messages:
    950
    Likes Received:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2004
    Location:
    Adelaide
    Members Ride:
    VK
    Retired my old desktop and replaced it with a nice new laptop a few months back:

    HP DV51139tx
    intel t9400
    4gb ram
    geforce 9600m gt 512mb graphics
    400gb hard drive
    a few other bells and whistles

    Also added a 1tb hard drive to the htpc. That's almost full however so might have to shell out for another.
    Picked up an xbox 360 wireless controller adaptor for the htpc to crank some NBA Jam with MAME. So awesome :yeah:
     
  7. ruggj

    ruggj .

    Messages:
    347
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2008
    Location:
    Melbourne, Vic
    Members Ride:
    VX Exec 01
    Nice man, that's a beast and a half, shame you didn't get the I7 940 but the damn thing is way over priced.
     
  8. Evolution_Ends_Here

    Evolution_Ends_Here New Member

    Messages:
    77
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2005
    Location:
    Dandenong North
    Members Ride:
    Miitsubishi Magna TJ
    Finally Updated this Computer Fianlly

    Cpu: Intel Celtron E1400 Duel Core 2gb
    Ram: 2gb
    MotherBoard:Msi G31M3
     
  9. 50LTRv8

    50LTRv8 Member

    Messages:
    642
    Likes Received:
    17
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2007
    Location:
    Canberra
    Members Ride:
    VT V8 Calais
    thats what overclocking is for :) :w00t:
     
  10. ruggj

    ruggj .

    Messages:
    347
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2008
    Location:
    Melbourne, Vic
    Members Ride:
    VX Exec 01
    lol true true
     
  11. WKGEN3

    WKGEN3 New Member

    Messages:
    0
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2009
    Location:
    Adelaide
    Members Ride:
    WK statesman
    my system .....i built it myself around 1-2 yrs ago...still runs quick as.....

    CASE: CM HAF 932
    PSU: CM 1000w
    MOBO: GB- EX38-DQ6
    CPU: Q6600 O/C
    RAM: Kingston Hyper X 1066
    GPU: Gigabyte 4870X2
    HD: 4X 500g WD and 1X 620g WD
    DVD: Pioneer DVD-RW
    SCREEN: Samsung 2253LW
    KEYBOARD: Logitech G15
    MOUSE: Cyber Snipa
    OS: Vista Home Premium
     
  12. levymetal

    levymetal TURN MY HEADPHONES UP

    Messages:
    1,259
    Likes Received:
    27
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2007
    Location:
    Somerville, Victoria
    Members Ride:
    HSV ENHANCED VP CALAIS
    lol, i've still got this computer, funny how mine's the worst and i'm the one studying computing :p

    upgraded to a geforce 9600gt though (the gddr3 one), it's the second best graphics card i could get for agp, pretty damn good actually. don't see why anyone needs a crazy pc, unless you want to max out crysis... i haven't even tried, but i bet my pc could run it playable :)

    also fixed my bluescreen issue, it was the power supply. no idea how that causes bluescreens, but it did (it was 450w), and now i'm on a 350w running perfectly fine too.
     
  13. Gus

    Gus New Member

    Messages:
    198
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2009
    Location:
    Northern Beaches, Sydney.
    Members Ride:
    2005 VZ Acclaim
    Processor and Memory
    - iMac 24 Inch 3.06GHz Intel Core 2 Duo processor
    - 6MB shared L2 cache at full processor speed
    - 1066MHz frontside bus
    - 4GB (two 2GB SO-DIMMs) of 1066MHz DDR3 SDRAM; two SO-DIMM slots support up to 8GB

    Storage
    - 24-inch model with 3.06GHz processor
    - 1TB 7200-rpm Serial ATA hard drive
    - TI Radeon HD 4850 graphics processor with 512MB of GDDR3 memory

    Optical Drive
    Slot-loading 8x SuperDrive (DVD±R DL/DVD±RW/CD-RW)

    Additional Features
    EyeTV - Diversity (Exactly like Foxtel IQ but for FreeTV on the computer)
    Adobe Suite - Student Edition

    Games
    Warcraft III Reign of Chaos + The Frozen Throne
    World of Warcraft + Both expansions
    The Sims Collection
    Starcraft 2 (As soon as it comes out!)
     
  14. Gus

    Gus New Member

    Messages:
    198
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2009
    Location:
    Northern Beaches, Sydney.
    Members Ride:
    2005 VZ Acclaim
    [​IMG]


    New Setup :)
     
  15. Turd Ferguson

    Turd Ferguson Donating Member

    Messages:
    2,142
    Likes Received:
    97
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2008
    Location:
    N.S.W
    Members Ride:
    Disco
  16. Holdfast

    Holdfast New Member

    Messages:
    495
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2005
    Members Ride:
    VE Sedan Country Pack
    The oldy I use still runs like a dream, boots real quick.:blah blah:

    MSI MS-6534 MOBO
    SDRAM 2 x 512Mb Hyundai 133MHZ
    Intel P4 Northwood 2.20GHZ 478 Socket
    Nividia GeForce Ti 4600 plus Artic cooler N1
    Western digital 160GB HD EIDE
    WIFI
    Extra USB hubs and that crap
    The old Diamond View Screen
    XP + Norton 360 Premier

    Sounds like crap aye but ok for the old games like Ghost Recon, Photography and Surfin.

    Games:surprise:

    Ghost Recon:bomb:
    Ghost Recon, Desert Siege:bomb:
    Ghost Recon, Island Thunder:bomb:
    FarCry:bomb:
    Hidden And Dangerous:bomb:
    Operation Falshpoint:bomb:
    Splinter Cell:bomb:
     
    Last edited: Oct 27, 2009
  17. levymetal

    levymetal TURN MY HEADPHONES UP

    Messages:
    1,259
    Likes Received:
    27
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2007
    Location:
    Somerville, Victoria
    Members Ride:
    HSV ENHANCED VP CALAIS
    little update of what my setup looks like now

    [​IMG]
     
  18. JD

    JD Donating Member

    Messages:
    1,716
    Likes Received:
    25
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2006
    Location:
    Deep South, SA
    Members Ride:
    1.6L Turbo Holden Croooooooooooze
    My new setup:

    Case: Aero Cool VX-e Pro
    Processer: AMD Phenom II 815 X4 2.6 ( Running at 3.2 )
    Motherboard: Gigabyte MA790GPT-UD3H
    Memory: 4GB PNY 1333MHz DDR3 ( soon to be 8GB )
    Hard Drive: 32Gb IDE ( lol, upgrading soon to 1TB Sata )
    Video: ECS 1GB 9600GT
    Power Supply: 850w AITO ( Don't need that much but yeah )

    Runs everything i need smooth as a babys bum!
     
  19. alien

    alien New Member

    Messages:
    913
    Likes Received:
    17
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2008
    Location:
    Tullamarine, Vic
    Members Ride:
    03 VY Supercharged 3.8L
    My current Setup:

    Server 1:
    Pentium 4 (775 Socket) 3.20 GHz, 3.21 GHz
    Gigabyte GA8IPE75-Pro (from memory)
    2.25 GB of RAM
    Coolermaster 650W
    Hard Drives: 160GB, 300GB, 1TB, 80GB
    1x nVidia GeForce 6200
    2x DVD Burners
    Floppy disk drive LOL
    XP Home SP2

    Server 2 (SSH'd into when needed):
    Not exactly sure on specs. It's not the quickest computer if it was on Windows. I think it's barely a Pentium 4
    Hard Drives: 2x 80GB, 1x 40GB
    Running Fedora Core 8 (or 9)

    New Development Machine:
    Intel Quad Core Q8600
    Gigabyte EG41MF-US2H
    8GB RAM (DDR2)
    ASUS 1GB EN9500GT Graphics Card
    DVD Burner (for now)
    2x 250GB drives
    Thermaltake Evo Blue 550W
    Antec Skeleton Case
    Vista Business

    Palsonic 32" HDTV for Server 1 and Development Machine
    Standard Keyboard and mouse on Server 1
    MX Revolution on development machine
    500GB NAS
    Sound setup, running 2.2 (2.1 system with an extra sub), but can be adapted to 4.2 when wanted
    2 Laptops as well :p

    New monitor on the way too :)

    Ignore graphics cards in my servers, i'm not a gamer, it just helps the servers and limits what can die.
     
  20. savage1987

    savage1987 Donating Member

    Messages:
    3,660
    Likes Received:
    31
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Joined:
    May 8, 2005
    Location:
    Townsville
    Members Ride:
    LS1 VN + WK Grange 0010 + HPW VX SS
    Pretty sure it isn't the worst, you haven't heard mine yet :)

    Picked up mostly 2nd hand for a shade over $500........
    Pentium D 820
    1gb DDR2 RAM
    Geforce 7600 GT
    160gb hdd
    LG 22in LCD W2253TQ Flatron
    Windows 7 Home Pemium 32bit



    + Logitech X530 I had from ages ago
    + 250gb external HDD I had from ages ago
     
    Last edited: Dec 2, 2009

Share This Page