Just Commodores Forum Community

It takes just a moment to join our fantastic community

Register

Need help

Discussion in 'VT - VX Holden Commodore (1997 - 2002)' started by Donthe1, Nov 22, 2019.

  1. Donthe1

    Donthe1 New Member

    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2019
    Location:
    Beenleigh
    Members Ride:
    Vt ss ls1 Commodore sedan
    I have 99 vt ss ls1 Commodore problems if I turn key on an let fuel pump load up then turn key rest of the way to start car nothing happens turn key off an back on very fast the car starts but I have no power to the Windows or the aircon and interior light plus if I turn car back off I can't lock doors oh and I forgot I don't have any power to the obd port .....?? Please help .... buy the I just changed the bcm an still nothing
     
  2. accentstencil

    accentstencil Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    8,054
    Likes Received:
    328
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2005
    Location:
    Eschol Park, Sydney
    Members Ride:
    WH II Caprice, 5.7 2017 Captiva.
    The BCM needs to be linked to the ECU, did you do that? If they are not linked the car won't start.
     
  3. Donthe1

    Donthe1 New Member

    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2019
    Location:
    Beenleigh
    Members Ride:
    Vt ss ls1 Commodore sedan
    Accentstencil I can start the car buy turning the key fast can't scan or link anything because there's no power at obd port like I stated in the first fred
     
  4. lout

    lout Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    2,358
    Likes Received:
    280
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Joined:
    May 13, 2006
    Location:
    Langwarrin Victoria
    Members Ride:
    VX Executive S2
    when you say if you turn the key fast it starts, does it keep running or stall after a couple of seconds
    if you just turn key to reds do the windows and interior light work
    with key removed do you have power to obd port, how are you testing obd port to determine you have no power
     
  5. accentstencil

    accentstencil Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    8,054
    Likes Received:
    328
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2005
    Location:
    Eschol Park, Sydney
    Members Ride:
    WH II Caprice, 5.7 2017 Captiva.

    That was going to be my next question too.
     
  6. Donthe1

    Donthe1 New Member

    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2019
    Location:
    Beenleigh
    Members Ride:
    Vt ss ls1 Commodore sedan
     
  7. Donthe1

    Donthe1 New Member

    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2019
    Location:
    Beenleigh
    Members Ride:
    Vt ss ls1 Commodore sedan
    Hi lout . The car keeps running I can drive it as well it doesn't matter wot position the key is in still no power to the Windows or interior light I took car to mechanics he plugs his scan machine into obd port and it's got no power there
     
  8. ltdslip

    ltdslip Member

    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2009
    Members Ride:
    vt
    ^^^
    REINSTALL
    Installation of the BCM is the reverse of the removal procedure, ensuring that the BCM is firmly installed in the BCM
    mounting brackets.
    BCM LINK TO PCM
    Connect TECH 2 to DLC and select the following:
    Diagnostics / (V) 1997 / VT Commodore / Body / Body Control Module / Security / BCM Link to PCM and follow
    TECH instructions
     
  9. Donthe1

    Donthe1 New Member

    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2019
    Location:
    Beenleigh
    Members Ride:
    Vt ss ls1 Commodore sedan
     
  10. Donthe1

    Donthe1 New Member

    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2019
    Location:
    Beenleigh
    Members Ride:
    Vt ss ls1 Commodore sedan
    Thanks itdslip I know wot your saying but tech2 is no good there's no power at obd port I've got car booked in to electrician on Monday hopefully they can sort it out at a reasonable price
     
  11. Lex

    Lex Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    1,354
    Likes Received:
    353
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2012
    Location:
    Geelong Victoria
    Members Ride:
    VT Executive S1 V6 Auto Wagon
    What was the reason, or thinking behind the changing of the BCM?
     
  12. Donthe1

    Donthe1 New Member

    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2019
    Location:
    Beenleigh
    Members Ride:
    Vt ss ls1 Commodore sedan
     
  13. Donthe1

    Donthe1 New Member

    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2019
    Location:
    Beenleigh
    Members Ride:
    Vt ss ls1 Commodore sedan
    Hi lex couple of mechanics said it must be the bcm after checking all fuses and relays
     
  14. Donthe1

    Donthe1 New Member

    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2019
    Location:
    Beenleigh
    Members Ride:
    Vt ss ls1 Commodore sedan
    So I changed the bcm and still have same problem exactly
     
    Last edited: Nov 23, 2019
  15. lout

    lout Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    2,358
    Likes Received:
    280
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Joined:
    May 13, 2006
    Location:
    Langwarrin Victoria
    Members Ride:
    VX Executive S2
    do you have a multimeter, do you know how to use one
     
  16. Donthe1

    Donthe1 New Member

    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2019
    Location:
    Beenleigh
    Members Ride:
    Vt ss ls1 Commodore sedan
    Hi lout I don't have one and don't know how to use 1 either
     
  17. lout

    lout Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    2,358
    Likes Received:
    280
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Joined:
    May 13, 2006
    Location:
    Langwarrin Victoria
    Members Ride:
    VX Executive S2
    ok hopefully you find a decent auto elec
    is this car standard
    especially has it had vats removed
    do you have serv error on dash
    have you tried engineering mode to check the communication lines
     
  18. lout

    lout Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    2,358
    Likes Received:
    280
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Joined:
    May 13, 2006
    Location:
    Langwarrin Victoria
    Members Ride:
    VX Executive S2
    have a read through this post it sounds similar
    https://forums.justcommodores.com.a...1-auto-v6-all-warning-lights-flashing.242876/
    engineering mode
    Hold mode and up arrow then turn key to on or start
    Release buttons
    then
    Press Mode = Dash Part Number - e.g. 1731
    Press Mode = Mode Switch Voltage - e.g. BV - - - 5.0
    Press Mode = Battery Voltage - e.g. V 11.8
    Press Mode = Petrol Sender Voltage - e.g. FUEL 02.6
    Press Mode = LPG Sender Voltage - e.g. VL 5.0
    Press Mode = Remaining Fuel - e.g. 38L
    Press Mode = Instantaneous Fuel (Liters per Hour) - e.g. 12.8 L/H
    Press Mode = Engine Coolant Temp - e.g. 63 C
    Press Mode = Vehicle Speed - e.g. 45 KM/H
    Press Mode = Tachometer - e.g. 2380
    Press Mode = Park Lamps Switch - e.g. P OFF
    Press Mode = Dash Trouble Codes - e.g. t 00 (Press up/down to scroll through any codes, these are not PCM, ABS, etc codes)
    Press Mode = Dash Test - All gauges will move, lights will come on and buzzer will sound.
    Turn key off will revert to normal dash

    Dash trouble codes
    Format is t then code number then history then current some have nu which I cant remember but believe was not used
    Eg
    t00-- is fuel gauge sender open circuit no history and no current faults
    t16h- is abs history codes but no current fault

    00 Fuel gauge sender unit — open circuit
    01 Fuel gauge sender unit — short circuit
    02 Fuel gauge sender unit — intermittent
    03 Fuel gauge sender unit — open circuit
    04 LPG gauge sender unit — open circuit
    05 LPG gauge sender unit — short circuit
    06 LPG gauge sender unit — intermittent
    08 No serial data from ABS
    09 No serial data from BCM
    10 No serial data from ECC
    11 No serial data from PCM
    12 No serial data from SDM
    13 No instrument poll from BCM
    14 No serial communication
    15 No Sub-clock
    16 ABS or ABS/ETC fault logged
    17 BCM fault logged
    18 ECC fault logged
    19 PCM fault logged
    20 SDM fault logged
    21 Trip switch short circuit
    22 Trip switch button stuck
    24 EE checksum error
    25 ROM checksum error
    26 Internal fault
     
  19. ltdslip

    ltdslip Member

    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2009
    Members Ride:
    vt
    Abridged version from Manuel...
    TECH 2 communicates with the vehicle via the serial data bus circuit connected to terminal 9 of the DLC and
    the serial data earth circuit is via terminal 5 of the DLC.
    The power supply for TECH 2 is from fuse F31 to terminal 16 of the DLC.
    The earth circuit is via terminal 4.
     

    Attached Files:

  20. Donthe1

    Donthe1 New Member

    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2019
    Location:
    Beenleigh
    Members Ride:
    Vt ss ls1 Commodore sedan
    Ok thanks guys doesn't matter wot I do here nothing is changing think I'll eat to see auto electricians Monday hopefully they can diagnose it . Thanks heaps for everyone's help
     

Share This Page