Welcome to Just Commodores, a site specifically designed for all people who share the same passion as yourself.

New Posts Contact us

Just Commodores Forum Community

It takes just a moment to join our fantastic community

Register

Modifying idle control when converting to manual

zeropalooba

Member
Joined
Dec 29, 2009
Messages
50
Reaction score
22
Points
8
Location
Sydney
Members Ride
VS Acclaim L67 manual
Hi guys, I hate starting new threads but I've had a quick search but no luck finding an answer. I have converted an L67 to Getrag manual. Everything is hunky dory but idle control.
Issues -
On start up the car idles at 2000 rpm for 2 seconds or so and then settles to 900 rpm where it idles beautifully.
When I drive a short distance (my driveway) in 1st, I have to put my foot on the brake to slow the car down.
When I disengage the clutch it revs at 2000 rpm for 2 seconds or so and then settles to 900 rpm where, once again, it idles beautifully.
I think these issues are all due to the idle control being set up for an automatic transmission. Does anyone here have any suggestions on how to get it to behave like manual when going into the idle state (no load, closed throttle) from some other state?
Thanks in advance.
 

lowandslow

Well-Known Member
Joined
Dec 11, 2013
Messages
1,580
Reaction score
271
Points
83
Location
NSW
Members Ride
V2 III Monaro
You'll need to get a manual tune memcal.
 

immortality

Can't live without smoky bacon!
Staff member
Joined
Apr 15, 2006
Messages
15,461
Reaction score
3,595
Points
113
Location
Sth Auck, NZ
Members Ride
HSV VS Senator, VX s2 Calais S/C
^^^^ Winner winner chicken dinner.
 

Utel67

Active Member
Joined
Jul 15, 2019
Messages
325
Reaction score
137
Points
43
Location
Tasmania
Members Ride
Vs s3 ute
I believe he has a nvram from pcmhacking, (I don't tune) maybe you need to get the manual IAC settings from a V6 manual bin.
 

Lex

Well-Known Member
Joined
Sep 19, 2012
Messages
1,766
Reaction score
563
Points
113
Location
Geelong Victoria
Members Ride
VT Executive S1 V6 6 speed Auto Wagon
I thought he had the manual tune on the nvram?
If so, maybe he should be looking at a new iac sensor or tps? Maybe both?
 

Utel67

Active Member
Joined
Jul 15, 2019
Messages
325
Reaction score
137
Points
43
Location
Tasmania
Members Ride
Vs s3 ute
I thought he had the manual tune on the nvram?
If so, maybe he should be looking at a new iac sensor or tps? Maybe both?
I think the nvram comes with the1's enhanced tune which is auto?
 

Lex

Well-Known Member
Joined
Sep 19, 2012
Messages
1,766
Reaction score
563
Points
113
Location
Geelong Victoria
Members Ride
VT Executive S1 V6 6 speed Auto Wagon
I think the nvram comes with the1's enhanced tune which is auto?
Looks like l was wrong.

I thought l read in another post where he had downloaded the correct bin file & loaded that on the nvram.
Sorry, but not sure about the correct tuning terminology.
 

Utel67

Active Member
Joined
Jul 15, 2019
Messages
325
Reaction score
137
Points
43
Location
Tasmania
Members Ride
Vs s3 ute
Maybe I might be wrong, what's that old saying two wrongs makes a right:D
 

immortality

Can't live without smoky bacon!
Staff member
Joined
Apr 15, 2006
Messages
15,461
Reaction score
3,595
Points
113
Location
Sth Auck, NZ
Members Ride
HSV VS Senator, VX s2 Calais S/C
Generally the guys selling the gear will load a tune on it for you but you still need to make sure it is correct for your combo.
 

Lex

Well-Known Member
Joined
Sep 19, 2012
Messages
1,766
Reaction score
563
Points
113
Location
Geelong Victoria
Members Ride
VT Executive S1 V6 6 speed Auto Wagon
Top