Just Commodores Forum Community

It takes just a moment to join our fantastic community

Register

Modifying idle control when converting to manual

Discussion in 'Tuning' started by zeropalooba, Nov 15, 2019.

  1. zeropalooba

    zeropalooba Member

    Messages:
    47
    Likes Received:
    22
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2009
    Location:
    Sydney
    Members Ride:
    VS Acclaim L67 manual
    Hi guys, I hate starting new threads but I've had a quick search but no luck finding an answer. I have converted an L67 to Getrag manual. Everything is hunky dory but idle control.
    Issues -
    On start up the car idles at 2000 rpm for 2 seconds or so and then settles to 900 rpm where it idles beautifully.
    When I drive a short distance (my driveway) in 1st, I have to put my foot on the brake to slow the car down.
    When I disengage the clutch it revs at 2000 rpm for 2 seconds or so and then settles to 900 rpm where, once again, it idles beautifully.
    I think these issues are all due to the idle control being set up for an automatic transmission. Does anyone here have any suggestions on how to get it to behave like manual when going into the idle state (no load, closed throttle) from some other state?
    Thanks in advance.
     
  2. lowandslow

    lowandslow Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    1,500
    Likes Received:
    221
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2013
    Location:
    NSW
    Members Ride:
    V2 III Monaro
    You'll need to get a manual tune memcal.
     
  3. immortality

    immortality Home of the smoky breakfast Bacon! Staff Member

    Messages:
    14,636
    Likes Received:
    2,601
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2006
    Location:
    Sth Auck, NZ
    Members Ride:
    HSV VS Senator, VX s2 Calais S/C
    ^^^^ Winner winner chicken dinner.
     
  4. Utel67

    Utel67 Active Member

    Messages:
    236
    Likes Received:
    91
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2019
    Location:
    Tasmania
    Members Ride:
    Vs s3 ute
    I believe he has a nvram from pcmhacking, (I don't tune) maybe you need to get the manual IAC settings from a V6 manual bin.
     
  5. Lex

    Lex Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    1,403
    Likes Received:
    383
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2012
    Location:
    Geelong Victoria
    Members Ride:
    VT Executive S1 V6 Auto Wagon
    I thought he had the manual tune on the nvram?
    If so, maybe he should be looking at a new iac sensor or tps? Maybe both?
     
  6. Utel67

    Utel67 Active Member

    Messages:
    236
    Likes Received:
    91
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2019
    Location:
    Tasmania
    Members Ride:
    Vs s3 ute
    I think the nvram comes with the1's enhanced tune which is auto?
     
  7. Lex

    Lex Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    1,403
    Likes Received:
    383
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2012
    Location:
    Geelong Victoria
    Members Ride:
    VT Executive S1 V6 Auto Wagon
    Looks like l was wrong.

    I thought l read in another post where he had downloaded the correct bin file & loaded that on the nvram.
    Sorry, but not sure about the correct tuning terminology.
     
  8. Utel67

    Utel67 Active Member

    Messages:
    236
    Likes Received:
    91
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2019
    Location:
    Tasmania
    Members Ride:
    Vs s3 ute
    Maybe I might be wrong, what's that old saying two wrongs makes a right:D
     
  9. immortality

    immortality Home of the smoky breakfast Bacon! Staff Member

    Messages:
    14,636
    Likes Received:
    2,601
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2006
    Location:
    Sth Auck, NZ
    Members Ride:
    HSV VS Senator, VX s2 Calais S/C
    Generally the guys selling the gear will load a tune on it for you but you still need to make sure it is correct for your combo.
     
  10. Lex

    Lex Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    1,403
    Likes Received:
    383
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2012
    Location:
    Geelong Victoria
    Members Ride:
    VT Executive S1 V6 Auto Wagon
  11. immortality

    immortality Home of the smoky breakfast Bacon! Staff Member

    Messages:
    14,636
    Likes Received:
    2,601
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2006
    Location:
    Sth Auck, NZ
    Members Ride:
    HSV VS Senator, VX s2 Calais S/C
    I don't know if there is an enhanced file specifically for manual transmissions, so you would need to set or unset all the relevant flags and the change over the various alterations used in the manual tunes for driveability issues. You would need to compare auto and manual tune in Tunerpro and see what stuff was changed to suit.
     
  12. Lex

    Lex Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    1,403
    Likes Received:
    383
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2012
    Location:
    Geelong Victoria
    Members Ride:
    VT Executive S1 V6 Auto Wagon
    There is another thread, where he talks about what you have mentioned here. I don't know where that thread is though?
     
  13. zeropalooba

    zeropalooba Member

    Messages:
    47
    Likes Received:
    22
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2009
    Location:
    Sydney
    Members Ride:
    VS Acclaim L67 manual
    Hi all, sorry I wasn't specific. The tune is L67 and all L67s were automatic from factory. The1, guru, starts with the factory tune before doing his enhancing magic so it's still at its core an auto tune and there is no readily available manual version. Some of you raised some good points like comparing the manual naturally aspirated tune to see how idle control differs from the auto and then adjust mine accordingly. Another possibility someone raised indirectly was putting a boosted manual tune in the NVRAM. Either way, it looks I've got some fun weekends ahead of me. Now that all the hard work is done (engine in, gearbox in, brakes and rear end upgraded), I can start to have fun tinkering.
     
  14. lowandslow

    lowandslow Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    1,500
    Likes Received:
    221
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2013
    Location:
    NSW
    Members Ride:
    V2 III Monaro
    Ask nicely on pcmhacking and someone will hook you up for a small fee.
     
  15. immortality

    immortality Home of the smoky breakfast Bacon! Staff Member

    Messages:
    14,636
    Likes Received:
    2,601
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2006
    Location:
    Sth Auck, NZ
    Members Ride:
    HSV VS Senator, VX s2 Calais S/C
    ecotec and L67 idle stuff is all the same so using comparing an ecotec getrag tune should reveal what you need. It's been years since I looked at one but there are some differences. Try using the difference tool function in Tunerpro.
     
  16. zeropalooba

    zeropalooba Member

    Messages:
    47
    Likes Received:
    22
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2009
    Location:
    Sydney
    Members Ride:
    VS Acclaim L67 manual
    Just a quick update. I collected some data this morning and confirmed that the IAC stepper motor is opening up when I blip the throttle. It idles at 34 steps and rises to 80 steps when I tap the accelerator causing the revs to go right up, even after the TPS has returned to zero. The IAC then starts to fall. I am not sure if the reduction in steps is a decay function or just how fast the IAC is able to move from one value to another.
    I also noticed that the ECU thinks the car is in 1st gear. When I researched this, I found that removing the range selector wires from the loom is logically the same as having the range selector at 2 (all range selector switches open) - meaning the ECU behaves like the auto is in gear and increases the steps to compensate. My theory is, to take over idle control, I should trick the ECU into thinking the range selector is in neutral (switch B closed). I have attached a wire for the B switch (F10 pinout) and earthed it but haven't had a chance to test it.
    Tomorrow I will see if the ECU now thinks the auto is in neutral. I'm hoping this bypasses all the weird automatic voodoo.
    @Holden202T wrote "Basic Tuning of a Delco ECM With $12P" in which he says he likes his IAC motor at idle to be at 15 - 20 steps. I'll try and adjust mine down to this value as well.
    The problem is not yet solved, but I may be making progress.
     
    Last edited: Nov 19, 2019
  17. immortality

    immortality Home of the smoky breakfast Bacon! Staff Member

    Messages:
    14,636
    Likes Received:
    2,601
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2006
    Location:
    Sth Auck, NZ
    Members Ride:
    HSV VS Senator, VX s2 Calais S/C
    Are you sure you have unchecked all the auto flags? There is also a flag for manual trans and a separate flag for getrag manual trans.

    Compare the IAC throttle follower table auto to manual as this is what it seems to be doing.
     

Share This Page