Welcome to Just Commodores, a site specifically designed for all people who share the same passion as yourself.

New Posts Contact us

Just Commodores Forum Community

It takes just a moment to join our fantastic community

Register

[General] Make your own Transmission Manualiza plug for $6.00

Trayner

Fresh prince of Pakky, Gangsta
Joined
Aug 21, 2008
Messages
1,411
Reaction score
92
Points
48
Location
Pakenham , VIC
Members Ride
Gangsta Hundy
I TAKE NO CREDIT FOR THIS MOD AS IT NOT MINE
Taken from L67torque.com from member VRTIDY


This is wired the same as the Transmission Manualiza plug that RVO and DTM transmissions are supplying for large amounts of money.

This transmission manualizing plug disables the Automatic gear change and allows the 4L60 transmission to be manually gear changed under full trans line pressure.
It will give a smooth manual gear change at low Revs/Power, and Hard as manual gear changes at High Revs/High Power.

1 x 4L60E transmission plug from a VR - VY Commodore loom. cut it off with between 100mm - 200mm of wire on it. $5.00
1 x IN5408 4 amp silicone rectifier diode. $1.00
4 X Stubbies of Harn light

Solder the yellow and light green wire on to the anode side of the diode and insulate.
Solder the yellow/black and Brown/yellow to the Cathode side of the Diode ( Side with the silver band).
supply 12volts from the ignition (reds) to the pink/blue wire to power the transmission.
Cut off remaining unused wires.






 

thesakeofit

New Member
Joined
Dec 19, 2009
Messages
19
Reaction score
0
Points
0
Members Ride
vn
can u give more info on this as to wat it funy does in detail thanks
 

delcowizzid

on holiday
Joined
Jul 8, 2008
Messages
6,993
Reaction score
439
Points
83
Location
NZ
Members Ride
в∞ѕтεכ √&
triggers the shift solinoids manually when you select gears instead of the ecu controlling it.it uses the gear position switch in the trans to directly activate the solinoid required for the gear you want
 

Red Ranger

New Member
Joined
Mar 11, 2010
Messages
104
Reaction score
2
Points
0
Members Ride
Vn commodore executive
delco is this legit? Guessing if it is it would only work from vp onwards
 

sp001in

vyma100
Joined
Jul 2, 2005
Messages
562
Reaction score
7
Points
18
Age
38
Location
QLD
Members Ride
VY ute
also how do you select 4th gear? Is D still full auto?

If I put it in D, is it going to be in 4th and have no take off power?
 

Red Ranger

New Member
Joined
Mar 11, 2010
Messages
104
Reaction score
2
Points
0
Members Ride
Vn commodore executive
if this is legit it is very cool, but the only car i would be game doing it to is the vn hahaha but that aint gunna happen :D
 

thesakeofit

New Member
Joined
Dec 19, 2009
Messages
19
Reaction score
0
Points
0
Members Ride
vn
yer thats what i was thinkin as im getin a vn calais auto soon and ive got a engine and 5speed conversion already sitin in the shed so was thinkin of doin this for abit of fun thats why id lik some more details
 

F1carbonuk

New Member
Joined
Aug 24, 2010
Messages
19
Reaction score
0
Points
0
Age
45
Location
Saudi Arabia
Members Ride
Chevy Lumina SS
Hasn't it already been mentioned that manualy shifting an Auto kills the box.
 

wraith

Hand over the dog bikkies
Joined
Sep 17, 2008
Messages
5,014
Reaction score
116
Points
63
Location
Demonicaland
Members Ride
VX V6 Berlina. 2003 VW Passat
obviously this looses torque convertor lockup and trans temperature 4th gear lockout good for doing an engine swap into an old vehicle with no ecu and a non-lockup convertor not so good on a commodore with standard convertor will cook the box if its driven at highway speeds without a non-lockup convertor and accompanying fluid mods inside the box for the TC
Taken from the other thread.

Transmission Manualiser
 

delcowizzid

on holiday
Joined
Jul 8, 2008
Messages
6,993
Reaction score
439
Points
83
Location
NZ
Members Ride
в∞ѕтεכ √&
will only work vr onwards auto
 
Top