Just Commodores Forum Community

It takes just a moment to join our fantastic community

Register

L67 NEED HELP!

Discussion in 'VT - VX Holden Commodore (1997 - 2002)' started by DeathSammich, Dec 7, 2017.

  1. DeathSammich

    DeathSammich Member

    Messages:
    97
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2017
    Location:
    Hobart, Tasmania
    Members Ride:
    VT Berlina S1
    okay I'm putting the belt back on the l67 and it's rubbing. If I put a 3" pulley on the end under the coil the belt won't fit. Idk what's wrong with it at all. I've never had this engine eunnimg before either I bought it and rebuilt it a couple months back so I assume the guy before be messed with something. Thanks.
     

    Attached Files:

  2. _R_J_K_

    _R_J_K_ Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    4,544
    Likes Received:
    412
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2008
    Members Ride:
    Zenki S14
    Looking at this picture of a tensioner from Mace, your idlers are the wrong way around.
    So the small one under the coils needs to go to near the harmonic balancer, the one from next to the harmonic balancer needs to go to the tensioner, and the one that's currently on the tensioner needs to become the idler.
    [​IMG]
     
  3. DeathSammich

    DeathSammich Member

    Messages:
    97
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2017
    Location:
    Hobart, Tasmania
    Members Ride:
    VT Berlina S1
    When changing them over with other ones I had the 2 up top as 3" and the one near the balancer as 3.5" yet the belt still rubs. I have no idea what's going on
     
  4. _R_J_K_

    _R_J_K_ Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    4,544
    Likes Received:
    412
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2008
    Members Ride:
    Zenki S14
    So I've realised that the picture is upside down on Mace's site and that the way said won't work due to ribbing. Seems like you've got a couple of random idlers on there, probably from the regular serpentine belt. The pulley near the harmonic balancer and the non-tensioned idler need to be swapped, but they also need to be swapped for ribbing, so you should have a small smooth idler and a ribbed larger plastic one as in the pic.
     
  5. DeathSammich

    DeathSammich Member

    Messages:
    97
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2017
    Location:
    Hobart, Tasmania
    Members Ride:
    VT Berlina S1
    So what do I do about the the double idler near the harmonic balancer?
     
  6. _R_J_K_

    _R_J_K_ Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    4,544
    Likes Received:
    412
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2008
    Members Ride:
    Zenki S14
    Scrath that too. It's almost like the bottom pulleys aren't close enough to the water pump - [​IMG]
     
  7. DeathSammich

    DeathSammich Member

    Messages:
    97
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2017
    Location:
    Hobart, Tasmania
    Members Ride:
    VT Berlina S1
    That's an Ecotec with a blower on top
     
  8. _R_J_K_

    _R_J_K_ Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    4,544
    Likes Received:
    412
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2008
    Members Ride:
    Zenki S14
    Ad says it's not - https://forums.justcommodores.com.au/threads/v6-supercharged-l67-engine-sold.215841/

    Anyway the bottom pulley location shouldn't change between the two because it's also a point for the regular serpentine belt which is the same on both engines. Speaking of which, does the regular belt fit? Pretty sure your bottom pulley is misaligned or bolted on in the wrong place, looks waaay too close to the A/C compressor, or it could be using some random idler bracket.

    Better image - [​IMG]
     
    Last edited: Dec 7, 2017
  9. Tidy Stato

    Tidy Stato New Member

    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2017
    Location:
    Queensland
    Members Ride:
    Wh Statesman v6 supercharged C
    have you touched the power steering pump at all... only cause my belt sqealed its tits of after fitting my pump back on.
    the mounting bolts were tightened up and about 2mm out of alignment. ...
    "just a bit of info thats all"
     
  10. _R_J_K_

    _R_J_K_ Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    4,544
    Likes Received:
    412
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2008
    Members Ride:
    Zenki S14
    Supercharger belt doesn't touch power steering. 2mm aint gonna fix the two sides of that belt touching, lol.
     
  11. wrx884

    wrx884 WA's ASR Rep

    Messages:
    3,687
    Likes Received:
    35
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2006
    Location:
    Perth
    Members Ride:
    VT Exec/ VT L67 Spac, 5L VP Calais, 77 TC Gemini
    Thats how mine are set up. any chance the 3.5" pulleys shaft is bent towards the air compressor or downwards even? like its been dropped? mayb take those 3.5' pulleys off and double check its straight coz it looks like these are whats too close?
     
  12. EYY

    EYY Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    4,956
    Likes Received:
    1,032
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2011
    Location:
    Vic
    Members Ride:
    VS Statesman
    You need the ribbed pulley in the left of this pic.

    BTW, the ecotec and l67 blocks are the same - no way to tell what's what from that pic a few posts up.

    Double row idler pulley/bracket is also wrong, or at least mounted wrong as RJK said. They should use two pulleys back to back (I found that tensioner pulleys are the same as these). Looks like it may be an ecotec bracket?
     

Share This Page