Welcome to Just Commodores, a site specifically designed for all people who share the same passion as yourself.

New Posts Contact us

Just Commodores Forum Community

It takes just a moment to join our fantastic community

Register

How to install Power Windows

Wombles

Cars cost too much.
Joined
Oct 28, 2009
Messages
2,091
Reaction score
30
Points
48
Location
Gippsland
Members Ride
'72 LJ Torana, '95 VS Acclaim and V8 wagon
Ok.. Still on the drivers door issue.
Have tryed different loom, different ECU with matching BCM and have tryed new switch. Still no workies.
Motor works as I put power straight to it.
Does the drivers door have a seperate relay/fuse?
 

aj159

New Member
Joined
Jun 19, 2012
Messages
28
Reaction score
0
Points
0
Age
27
Location
Sydney
Members Ride
VS CALAIS
Ok.. Still on the drivers door issue.
Have tryed different loom, different ECU with matching BCM and have tryed new switch. Still no workies.
Motor works as I put power straight to it.
Does the drivers door have a seperate relay/fuse?
Just did the power windoiw conversion and i had this problem too... i have a vr acclaim and had all wiring bar rear doors...
there is 2 relay plugs under dash with the shitty tape around it... one is a 4 pin relay... poweres the rear doors and centre console switches... second one i used a 4 pin plug and front windows went down but not up... grabbed a 5 pin relay and it worked?
so could be something as simple as that wombles
goodluck man hope you sort it out
 

Wombles

Cars cost too much.
Joined
Oct 28, 2009
Messages
2,091
Reaction score
30
Points
48
Location
Gippsland
Members Ride
'72 LJ Torana, '95 VS Acclaim and V8 wagon
Found out that it was a 5 pin. Went to the wreck and grabbed it. All good now. She seems to over load it a bit. Blown the 20amp fuse a few times putting 2 windows down at once..
 

Adds_05

Member
Joined
Jan 27, 2010
Messages
663
Reaction score
3
Points
18
Location
Central Coast, NSW
Members Ride
VT SS 5.7L
it uses a circuit breaker, not a fuse for that reason.
This is from my vr ss that had factory fitted power windows
 

Wombles

Cars cost too much.
Joined
Oct 28, 2009
Messages
2,091
Reaction score
30
Points
48
Location
Gippsland
Members Ride
'72 LJ Torana, '95 VS Acclaim and V8 wagon
Need to buy a vircuit breaker then...
 

GothicKidd

ლ(ಠ益ಠლ
Joined
Dec 5, 2010
Messages
939
Reaction score
3
Points
18
Location
South Australia
Members Ride
VR S2 Exec
Got a weird issue, when I plug a 5 pin relay into the Drivers side relay holder it blows fuse 7 (power door locks / radio)
What could be the problem?

Edit:
Ignored it, got myself a switch wired it up.. and went it for the kill and tried again and BAM. it Worked :D
I've even got auto down :D

So happy ATM. just have to install the rear regulators + switches and have the VY master switch moulded into the console and should be good :)
 
Last edited:

Wombles

Cars cost too much.
Joined
Oct 28, 2009
Messages
2,091
Reaction score
30
Points
48
Location
Gippsland
Members Ride
'72 LJ Torana, '95 VS Acclaim and V8 wagon
Short/possible broken wire.
 

BurgundyVSexecutive

New Member
Joined
Feb 5, 2013
Messages
13
Reaction score
0
Points
0
Location
adelaide
Members Ride
VS executive
If you allready have plugs for electric windows in the front doors does this mean they will be in the back doors as well? also having the front door ones does it mean there are plugs under the centre console for the swiches?
 

aj159

New Member
Joined
Jun 19, 2012
Messages
28
Reaction score
0
Points
0
Age
27
Location
Sydney
Members Ride
VS CALAIS
If you allready have plugs for electric windows in the front doors does this mean they will be in the back doors as well? also having the front door ones does it mean there are plugs under the centre console for the swiches?
I had a vr aclaim and had switches under the radio/console had the front doors but no rear door looms... being an executive i doubt the rear will have the electric looms
 
Top