Welcome to Just Commodores, a site specifically designed for all people who share the same passion as yourself.

New Posts Contact us

Just Commodores Forum Community

It takes just a moment to join our fantastic community

Register

Hazards lights keeps randomly turning on from upgraded fascia

Wild427ci

New Member
Joined
Dec 12, 2020
Messages
3
Reaction score
0
Points
1
Age
35
Location
Burpengary, Brisbane
Members Ride
2009 holden ve ssv ute manual
Hey guys. Need help. I have a upgraded sterio installed by a knowledgeable alpine installer but we have a problem. The hazards keeps randomly turning on. Replaced the fascia 3 times with brand new ones, replaced the wire loom, even had the areopro rep come take a look as well as a auto electrician and all can't work out why.
Checked all connectors, bcm, ran a scantool through it ... Nothing. But we put the standard head unit back in to test it and it works fine bit then I can't play music because of the upgraded amps arnt connected ... Please any help out there would be awesome
 

Attachments

Fu Manchu

Well-Known Member
Joined
Mar 18, 2006
Messages
5,647
Reaction score
3,072
Points
113
Location
WA.
Members Ride
Slug powered VZ, Cross 8 VZ, VE Calais & ya mum.
Not sure what the wiring is like behind one of those, but what you are describing could happen if that hazard switch or it’s wiring are being pressed or constricted behind there
 

krusing

Well-Known Member
Joined
Jun 21, 2014
Messages
2,200
Reaction score
945
Points
113
Location
Melbourne Bayside 3193
Members Ride
2002 VY L67 Calais Sedan, 2012 VE L77 Calais Wagon
Head Unit Facia Hazard Switch Faulty ?
Are they replacable ?
Is there a wire in the wrong position on the loom ?
Any particular sequence you are doing and the hazards activate ?
As above ^^^^ Putting pressure on the loom/plug,

As I have never had to replace one, or seen behind it.
 
Last edited:

Fu Manchu

Well-Known Member
Joined
Mar 18, 2006
Messages
5,647
Reaction score
3,072
Points
113
Location
WA.
Members Ride
Slug powered VZ, Cross 8 VZ, VE Calais & ya mum.
Surely not on 3 separate facias?
 

Fu Manchu

Well-Known Member
Joined
Mar 18, 2006
Messages
5,647
Reaction score
3,072
Points
113
Location
WA.
Members Ride
Slug powered VZ, Cross 8 VZ, VE Calais & ya mum.
What about removing the headunit, refit the facia and go for a drive over some bumps to set the fault off?
 

Wild427ci

New Member
Joined
Dec 12, 2020
Messages
3
Reaction score
0
Points
1
Age
35
Location
Burpengary, Brisbane
Members Ride
2009 holden ve ssv ute manual
Surely not on 3 separate facias?
Yeah mate, I have replaced the fascia 3 times, replaced the wireloom from the fascia to the bcm once and had the bcm looked over and checked by an auto election
 

Wild427ci

New Member
Joined
Dec 12, 2020
Messages
3
Reaction score
0
Points
1
Age
35
Location
Burpengary, Brisbane
Members Ride
2009 holden ve ssv ute manual
What about removing the headunit, refit the facia and go for a drive over some bumps to set the fault off?
I can be parked with the motor running and it will still activate. But can still just press the switch and it will turn off ... But seconds later it will automatically just come back on
 

Fu Manchu

Well-Known Member
Joined
Mar 18, 2006
Messages
5,647
Reaction score
3,072
Points
113
Location
WA.
Members Ride
Slug powered VZ, Cross 8 VZ, VE Calais & ya mum.
What about the relay for the hazard lights?
 
Top