Just Commodores Forum Community

It takes just a moment to join our fantastic community

Register

Gearbox pan bolts

Discussion in 'VR - VS Holden Commodore (1993 - 1997)' started by Makalaza, Apr 27, 2019.

  1. Makalaza

    Makalaza Member

    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2019
    Location:
    Waterford West Qld
    Members Ride:
    1994 VR Commodore Ute S1 / VX Executive Sedan S2
    Hi everyone - how tight do you do up the gearbox pan bolts without a torque wrench ? Went underneath to check leak out and found out half of my bolts were loose, I could do them up with my fingers.
    thanks everyone
     
  2. BlackVXGTS

    BlackVXGTS Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    3,577
    Likes Received:
    558
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2004
    Location:
    Melbourne, SE
    Members Ride:
    GEN-F2 GTS A6, VS Clubsport 185 A4
    Nip them up until they are just tight.
     
  3. Skylarking

    Skylarking Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    2,655
    Likes Received:
    1,295
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2018
    Location:
    Downunder
    Members Ride:
    Commodore Motorsport
    Too loose and the bolts will loosen and fall out. Too tight and you may deform the pan lip and compromise the gasket.

    So get a torque wrench, they are not expensive. Then you can do them up to the recommended NM specified by Holden. That way you’ll avoid any issues.
     
  4. vs-lover

    vs-lover Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    1,768
    Likes Received:
    978
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2013
    Location:
    Adelaide
    Members Ride:
    VS S2 Calais, VS S2 Exec Wagon, VS S2 Acclaim
    I've always only used a quarter drive socket and nipped them up firmly, not real tight as the cork gasket will split and then it'll be start from the beginning again with all new stuff.

    But I totally agree with "skylarking" if you are going to do it by the book.
     
  5. Makalaza

    Makalaza Member

    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2019
    Location:
    Waterford West Qld
    Members Ride:
    1994 VR Commodore Ute S1 / VX Executive Sedan S2
    Cheers guys
     
  6. EYY

    EYY Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    4,998
    Likes Received:
    1,073
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2011
    Location:
    Vic
    Members Ride:
    VS Statesman
    I did them for years without a torque wrench. Over a period of 12+ months they'd start to weep a little. Purchased a $30 1.4" tension wrench and haven't had any leaking at all from them for a very long time. Transmission pans are incredibly sensitive to small changes in tension settings.

    Too much and you'll crush the gasket and it'll lose elasticity and the bolts will become loose, too little and there's not enough pressure on the gasket and the bolts will come loose.

    I purchased a car a couple of years ago really cheap because it was leaking really badly from the transmission to the point it wouldn't drive properly. That trans ended up in my daily and it's been perfect ever since lol
     
  7. Makalaza

    Makalaza Member

    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2019
    Location:
    Waterford West Qld
    Members Ride:
    1994 VR Commodore Ute S1 / VX Executive Sedan S2
    Thanks mate - i have ordered 1 off ebay
     
  8. Wozza

    Wozza Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    1,888
    Likes Received:
    284
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2011
    Location:
    Adelaide
    Members Ride:
    VR_GS commodore
    Hope you got the right one...the cheap (under 200$) one's they are only good for the middle of their range, so if its a 10 nm to 100nm it will only be good/accurate for around 30 to 60nm ...As I buy cheap :) I have 3 torque wrenches ... light range, middle and heavy duty..
     

Share This Page