Just Commodores Forum Community

It takes just a moment to join our fantastic community

Register

DIY: ECU Scantools/Data Cables

Discussion in 'Electrical Wiring / Questions' started by michaelw, Nov 6, 2005.

  1. michaelw

    michaelw Donating Member

    Messages:
    557
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    May 4, 2005
    Location:
    Newcastle NSW
    Members Ride:
    VX S2
    Yep, the same plug and circuit will work for all of the above models.

    Mike
     
  2. breast69au

    breast69au New Member

    Messages:
    71
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2005
    Members Ride:
    VY Executive
    hey michaelw, do you make and sell these cables at all???? If so how much???
     
  3. CDS1

    CDS1 New Member

    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2007
    Members Ride:
    vt 3.8 series 2
    sorry new to this, bought obd2 to db9 diagnostic cable thinking my 1999vt series 2 v6 would be running this protocol. do i need to make/buy an interface to connect to laptop/pda can i use/mod mikes if so. should i use EFIlive4 or winaldl. all help greatlly appreciated thanks.
     
  4. michaelw

    michaelw Donating Member

    Messages:
    557
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    May 4, 2005
    Location:
    Newcastle NSW
    Members Ride:
    VX S2
    Sorry I don't quite follow you. Please ask if I haven't made myself clear.
    1)The VT will not run OBDII it has a OBDII shapped plug but the protocol is different. That said if you have a ALDL cable with a circuit based on an old design your cable will not work.

    2)When you are talking about connceting it to a laptop do you mean you want to run USB?

    3) Can you post a link to what you have bought?

    Mike
     
  5. CDS1

    CDS1 New Member

    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2007
    Members Ride:
    vt 3.8 series 2
    sorry mike for not replyin sooner the link if still avaliable is on ebay item # 170084813949 i dont have a laptop yet was thinking of something cheap so serial or usb at this stage prob to suit pentium 3 all help greatly appreciated
     
  6. michaelw

    michaelw Donating Member

    Messages:
    557
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    May 4, 2005
    Location:
    Newcastle NSW
    Members Ride:
    VX S2
    The cable you bought is no good. It is just a bunch of wires with no electronics, also the correct pins for the V6 are not even attached.

    Mike
     
  7. CDS1

    CDS1 New Member

    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2007
    Members Ride:
    vt 3.8 series 2
    Mike cant i make and use this circuit and rewire the plugs to suit or are u saying the obd2 plug is missing the pins to wire up to this circuit and therfore i need to source a new unused obd2 and db9 plug or is this circuit totally unsuitable sorry if this is starting to bother you chris
     
  8. kopper69

    kopper69 New Member

    Messages:
    2,617
    Likes Received:
    33
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2005
    Members Ride:
    VRII Acclaim
    You should be able to make it up if you pull your cable apart, all the pins required should be there, but they just wont be connected correctly. But it wont be easy unless you are confident with soldering, have access to a soldering iron, you know what the different electronic parts are, resistors, capacitors etc and how to read what values they are (although there is plenty of help on this on the net if you are willing to learn). You will have to make it up on a prototype board, which can get a bit messy and means you can easily make a mistake just by forgetting to join one wire etc, unless you are willing to make a board up, which is another set of skills again.

    Honestly mate, save yourself the hassle, if you want to connect your car to a computer just get a cable of michaelw. He has put a heap of work into it, it is an excellent product, and it does it for a very reasonable price considering all the work he has gone to.
     
  9. michaelw

    michaelw Donating Member

    Messages:
    557
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    May 4, 2005
    Location:
    Newcastle NSW
    Members Ride:
    VX S2

    Use the circuit I posted at the start of this thread. Don't bother with your OBD->DB9 cable, in order to use it you will have to hack through moulded plastic to get to a pin which might not be there. If you want to DIY (and I encourage people giving it a go) I can source you a plug for about $10 that includes postage.

    If there is enough interest I can make you some circuit boards as well.

    Mike
     
  10. Degeko

    Degeko New Member

    Messages:
    42
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2006
    Location:
    Townsville
    Members Ride:
    95 VS Calais 5.0L, MY12 VE SV6
    yeah im interested in a cable! will i be able to re-map the engine/trans ECU in my 2002 VY with this cable and efilive? or it just a diagnostic tool?
     
  11. michaelw

    michaelw Donating Member

    Messages:
    557
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    May 4, 2005
    Location:
    Newcastle NSW
    Members Ride:
    VX S2
    Diagnostics only. The VY definition files are pretty limited at the moment but go take a look at www.efilive.com and download version 4 to give yourself an idea as to what you can get.

    There should be enough info in this thread to roll your own and I can sell you the plug if you want. If you want to buy then take a look at the following thread http://forums.justcommodores.com.au/showthread.php?t=13311
     
  12. Degeko

    Degeko New Member

    Messages:
    42
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2006
    Location:
    Townsville
    Members Ride:
    95 VS Calais 5.0L, MY12 VE SV6
    yeah im interested in the plug, the efilive4 does support vy v6, how would i go about remapping?? do i need to replace rom with eeprom like older cars?
     
  13. michaelw

    michaelw Donating Member

    Messages:
    557
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    May 4, 2005
    Location:
    Newcastle NSW
    Members Ride:
    VX S2
    If you want to remap you should speak to DrBob. The ALDL cable will do diagnostics only.

    Mike
     
  14. woteva

    woteva NEED 4 SPEED

    Messages:
    1,360
    Likes Received:
    1,168
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2005
    Location:
    Adelaide S.A.
    Members Ride:
    VE2 Sportwagon - VR2 V6 ecotec Wag - VS2 V6 Wag
    I'm going to have a go a making a cable to use on my VR.
    Is this the correct plug I need ??

    LINKY -->JAYCAR CAT # PP0720

    [​IMG]
     
  15. michaelw

    michaelw Donating Member

    Messages:
    557
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    May 4, 2005
    Location:
    Newcastle NSW
    Members Ride:
    VX S2
    Yes. That is the correct one. I didn't know jaycar were selling them again.

    Mike
     
  16. kopper69

    kopper69 New Member

    Messages:
    2,617
    Likes Received:
    33
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2005
    Members Ride:
    VRII Acclaim
    I think jaycar have brought them back, noticed them listed in this years catlogue the other day. I think they are double the price you are selling them for anyway arent they michaelw?
     
  17. woteva

    woteva NEED 4 SPEED

    Messages:
    1,360
    Likes Received:
    1,168
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2005
    Location:
    Adelaide S.A.
    Members Ride:
    VE2 Sportwagon - VR2 V6 ecotec Wag - VS2 V6 Wag
    O CRAP !! :bang: I just ordered 1 :cry:
     
  18. kopper69

    kopper69 New Member

    Messages:
    2,617
    Likes Received:
    33
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2005
    Members Ride:
    VRII Acclaim
    I advise everyone just to get a complete setup from michaelw. He does them at a really good price and the whole setup is professional. Fits the whole circuit into the connector, usb ready. When he can do them for the price he does, its not worth doing it yourself.
     
  19. br14nh

    br14nh Back in the saddle....

    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2007
    Location:
    SW Sydney
    Members Ride:
    VX V6 wagon 5sp Manual
    Have bought the kit from Michaelw, and have been able to get it to work; however, it seems to cut out after a few minutes and the live dashboard doesn't seem to work, even when logging shows that it is recording live data (for a short time!)

    Any ideas what I should try, or is this normal?

    Cheers,
    Brian
     
  20. OZ38

    OZ38 Member

    Messages:
    363
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2004
    Location:
    Jurien Bay WA
    Members Ride:
    VS V6 T5 & VY V6 M35 UTE
    :thumbsup:
    I also got the cable from the good man. It's works fine. But EFILive V4 evaluation does seem very limited in what it can do for me. I got the Dash screen up but it would only show the items in the pic below. While using it I found it would set the thermo fans off and raise the idle, I would have to use the clear DTC button to turn them off after viewing the dash readouts live. I'm told the full version may give me more usable dash readouts.

    Cheers

    Deek
     

    Attached Files:

    Last edited: Aug 28, 2007

Share This Page