Welcome to Just Commodores, a site specifically designed for all people who share the same passion as yourself.

New Posts Contact us

Just Commodores Forum Community

It takes just a moment to join our fantastic community

Register

Checking your Computer for Faults (VN - VP)

Darren

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
Feb 2, 2003
Messages
2,943
Reaction score
315
Points
83
Age
41
Location
Adelaide
Website
www.justcommodores.com.au
Members Ride
Toyota RAV4 Cruiser Hybrid
  1. Remove the kick panel on the passenger side below the glove box.
  2. Grab a paper clip and bridge out the 'white' and 'black wire on the ALDL (Assembly Line Diagnostic Link) which can be found generally on the right hand side of the ECM (Electronic Control Module)or hanging down below it.
  3. Jump into the drivers seat and turn the key twice (so lights are up on the instrument cluster).
  4. If you bridged out the correct wires you will hear the electronic fan cut in and the 'Check Engine Lamp' will be flashing.
  5. The flashes are divided into 2 groups with roughly a second between each. You can read the flashes as follows:

    The first series of flashes is tens, so for example lets say the first flash simply flashes once, this means the code is 10. After the pause (~1 second) a second series of flashes will appear, if this number is 2, the code it is spitting out is 12 which means everything is fine.

  6. Another example just so your sure ;)

    The first series of flashes you count is 4 meaning 40, the second series of flashes is 3. Adding the 40 and the 3 will give you a code of 43 which means the Knock sensor circuit is experiencing problems.

  7. Each code the computer picks up is repeated three times with ~3 second pause between, so its wise to sit there to make sure there isn't any problems it has picked up.
  8. Once you are finished turn off your ignition, remove the paper and replace the kick panel. It is important to note not to drive the car around while have wires are bridged as this will prevent new codes from being logged.

    Any questions or queries please feel to contact me at anytime.

    Checking the computer for codes is used in conjunction with the computer Fault Codes located here
 

Darren

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
Feb 2, 2003
Messages
2,943
Reaction score
315
Points
83
Age
41
Location
Adelaide
Website
www.justcommodores.com.au
Members Ride
Toyota RAV4 Cruiser Hybrid

Attachments

Last edited by a moderator:

BigMike

New Member
Joined
Jan 31, 2005
Messages
5
Reaction score
0
Points
0
Age
42
Members Ride
VT Exec S1
Will this work for a VT Series 1?
 

clixanup

Has Left
Joined
Jan 27, 2004
Messages
554
Reaction score
8
Points
0
BigMike said:
Will this work for a VT Series 1?
No, their systems are entirely different.

You can, however, hold down the "mode" and "set" buttons on the trip computer while starting the engine to get heaps of useless info. On VY they changed this to mode & up.

To extract trouble codes from the PCM on VT onwards you need a Tech2 or similar device.
 

vl rb30

vn v6
Joined
Jul 26, 2005
Messages
82
Reaction score
0
Points
0
Age
45
Members Ride
VQ STATO 5 LITRE
hi there thanks 4 your help i done the teast when i turned the reds on i got 1 flash than another flashh then 2 flashes to start with then it started all over again and 1 flash started 3 seconds later 2 flashes went and then it just repeated itself so all the codes are 12 thats fine but during the test my thermo fan stayed on and if there is no fault codes how come my engine light comes on every know and then thanks buddy
 

krawczuk

New Member
Joined
Feb 25, 2004
Messages
92
Reaction score
0
Points
0

bacon-n-eggs

Tyre Frier
Joined
Jan 8, 2006
Messages
27
Reaction score
0
Points
0
Age
32
Members Ride
VL shitbox, in need of a snail!!
Ive linked up the white and black connectors, with the wires definately making contact with the metal within the connector however when i turn the key to II it still doesnt do anything? It says if it doesnt then i havent bridged it correctly but how is that so when it is a clear circuit?

Fanx for the help peeps :D
 

Jaym

New Member
Joined
Aug 1, 2005
Messages
178
Reaction score
1
Points
0
Age
39
Location
Warwick QLD
Members Ride
1998 VT Berlina
bacon-n-eggs said:
Ive linked up the white and black connectors, with the wires definately making contact with the metal within the connector however when i turn the key to II it still doesnt do anything? It says if it doesnt then i havent bridged it correctly but how is that so when it is a clear circuit?

Fanx for the help peeps :D
Mate you are using the wrong plug the in the pic is WRONG its the smallier one next to it
 

MarzVP

I now own a TARAGO!!!
Joined
Aug 13, 2005
Messages
662
Reaction score
9
Points
0
Age
47
Location
Port Bouvard, WA
Members Ride
1992 Tarago
new pics added hope that clears it up for people.
 
Top